Marlene Sutton

Clerk of the Year Award

The “Clerk of the Year Award” was renamed in 1996 to the “Marlene Sutton Clerk of the Year Award” in honor of a very special person. Marlene was the Clerk of Johnson County from 1991 to 1995. She was the Vice-president of our Association and also chaired our legislative committee. She was very instrumental in writing language to “protect” Clerks when Indiana’s National Voter’s Registration Compliance bill was compiled and passed.

Marlene and Butch Sutton were the parents of four adopted children. She graduated cum laude from Butler University. Marlene had served as President of the Carefree Homeowners Association; the Southside Sertoma; Greenwood Tri Kappa; Alumni of Pi Beta Phi and the Johnson County Red Cross. She had served on the Board of Directors of the Johnson County Community Correction Center; the White River Township Fire Department; the Indiana Chapter of the Leukemia Society of America and the Johnson County Youth Service Bureau. She worked on several committees for the Johnson County United Way and worked on or chaired several political campaigns.

Marlene was strong and determined individual who left an impression with everyone she met. No matter what happened, she always kept smiling. She was tested with much adversity. In 1994, she lost a close friend in a traffic accident; whe was unsuccessful in her bid for Auditor of State; and was badly injured when she fell down a flight of stairs.

When we reflect back on all that Marlene accomplished in her short life of 48 years, it is with great pride that this Association has renamed this ward in honor of Marlene Sutton.


Marlene Sutton Clerk of the Year Award Year AIC Clerk of the Year Award
1983Patricia Conrad, Allen
1984Paul Post, Dekalb
1985Karen Large, Miami
Karen Large, Miami1986Mary Lou Leavell, Marshall
Mary Lou Leavell, Marshall1987Ann McDaniel, Hancock
1988Kathy Richardson, Hamilton
Kathy Richardson, Hamilton1989Anne Malone, Huntington
Ann McDaniel, Hancock
Carolyn Keith, Rush1990Connie Campbell, Allen
Skip Wymire, Madison
Carolyn Keith, Rush1991Kenneth Brooks, Jasper
Ann Gillespie, Wabash
Donna Lyon, Warren1992Janet Goen, Dekalb
Connie Lawson, Hendricks1993Donna Lyon, Warren
Kenneth Brooks, Jasper1994Sarah Brown, Tippecanoe
Richard "Dick" Jones, Clark1995Kyle Conrad, Newton
Steve Cox, Randolph1996Connie Lawson, Hendricks
Sarah Taylor, Marion1997Roger Fisher, Parke
Rae Della Cravens, Greene1998Karen Daily, Benton
Jo Ellen Trimble, Wayne1999Brenda Jones-Matthews, Johnson
Kyle Conrad, Newton2000Joe Ellen Trimble, Wayne
Linda Grass, Hancock2001Arlene Castongia, Jasper
Linda D. Scopelitis, St. Joseph2002William L. Mansard, Vigo
Ruth Hibbard, Clinton2003Jan Fisher, Marshall
Tammy Baitz, Hamilton2004Marsha Abell, Vanderburgh
Jeff Dossett, Montgomery2005Linda Grass, Hancock
Vickie Kivet, Morgan2006Shelly Hiatt Parris, Sullivan
Shannon Weisheit, Warrick2007Dale Brewer, Porter
Ann Jochim, Spencer2008Mary Brown, Clay
Cindy Spence, Hendricks2009Therese M. Brown, Allen
Linda Phillips, Tippecanoe2010Fran Satterwhite, Scott
Beverly Elliott, LaGrange2011Cindy Spence, Hendricks
Peggy Mayfield, Morgan2012Shirley Van Meter, Pike
Julie Fox, Marshall2013Julie Fox, Marshall
J. Mark Florence, Grant2014Wendy Hudson, Elkhart
2015Terri Rethlake, St. Joseph